Europol : Catherine De Bolle named new executive director

Écrit par © Filactu le . Rubrique: Europe

Europol - Catherine De BolleOn 6 December 2017, the Permanent Representatives Committee (Coreper) agreed to put forward Catherine De Bolle from Belgium as the next executive director of Europol, for selection by the Council. he term of the current executive director, Rob Wainwright, expires on 1 May 2018.

The executive director is selected from a list of suitable candidates submitted by the management board of Europol. Once confirmed by the Council, the selected candidate will be heard by the European Parliament LIBE Committee, which then issues a non-binding opinion. Following this, the selected candidate can be appointed by the Council.
The executive director of Europol is appointed for a four year term, renewable once. <